Get better study experience with the jambite for andriod app! jambite app download

    General Discussions

    Prince Ty
    02-08-2016 16:11:00 +0000

    Universities and Their Catchment areas:The Joint Admission and Matriculation Board has stated that CATCHMENT AREAS and EDUCATIONAL LESS PRIVILEGED STATES (ELPS)will be part of the screening requirement for the 2016 admission Exercise. So knowing your catchment areas is important for all 2016 aspirant,as it will help determine your chances of gaining admission. What is catchment areas? By definition catchment areas are the geographical areas served by an institution. To break it down a little bit, we can also say the geographical areas in which an institution is located. Every Federal Government universities in Nigeria have their own catchment areas that they primarily serves. This does not mean that the school will not admit students outside the catchment area, but the catchment areas are given special considerations. I hope that makes sense to you? Assuming you are from Edo State and you want to apply for admission into University of Benin, then you will have advantage over those who are not from your catchment area/Edo State. 1 Ahmadu Bello University: Kaduna Adamawa , Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Gombe, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Katsina, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto, Nasarawa, Yobe, Zamfara, Taraba 2 ATBU: Bauchi Adamawa, Bauchi, Benue, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe 3 BAYERO Kano Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara 4 FUTA Ondo Ekiti, Lagos, Osun, Oyo, Ondo 5 FUTMinna: Minna Niger, Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau, Sokoto, Zamfara 6 FUTO: Imo Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi, Imo, Enugu 7 FUT Yola:Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe 8 OAU: Osun Ekiti, Lagos, Osun, Oyo, Ondo 9 UDU: Sokoto Jigawa, Kwara, Kebbi, Katsina, Kano, Kano, Kaduna, Nasarawa, Niger, Sokoto, Zamfara 10 UNN: Enugu Abia, Anambra, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Ebonyi, Edo, Enugu, Imo, Rivers 11 UNIBEN: Edo Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo, Rivers 12 UNICAL: Cross-Rivers Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo, Rivers 13 UNIJOS: Plateau Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plareau 14 UNILAG: Lagos Ekiti, Lagos, Osun, Oyo, Ondo, Ogun 15 UNILORIN: Ilorin Benue, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Plareau, Sokoto, Zamfara 16 UNIMAID: Borno Adamawa, Borno. Bauchi, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe 17 UNIUYO: Akwa-Ibom Akwa-Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross-River, Delta, Edo, Rivers 18 UNIZIK: Anambra, Abia, Anambra, Enugu, Ebonyi, Imo 19 UNIABUJA: UI, UMUDIKE, MAKURDI, UNIPORT, UNAAB, FUPRE, All States of the Federation. There are also some states which are accepted as catchment states in any federal university, and they are called EDUCATIONAL LESS PRIVILEGED STATES (ELPS) and you seem lucky if you are from any of these states, namely: Adamawa, Bauchi, Bayelsa, Benue, Borno, Cross-River, Ebonyi Gombe, Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Kogi, Kwara, Nasarawa, Niger, Plateau, Rivers, Sokoto, Taraba, Yobe, Zamfara. According to the Federal Government (NUC) Admission Policy; 20% of those offered admission are supposed to be from ELPS.   I hope this helps

    4 12 0

  • Joel Rapheal

    Yea thanks

    4 02-08-2016 16:15:00 +0000

  • Zakariyah Aliu Kehinde


    4 02-08-2016 16:22:00 +0000

  • Grace Ohaeri


    4 02-08-2016 16:28:00 +0000

  • Chukwudi Sam

    so wen it comin up

    4 02-08-2016 16:39:00 +0000

  • Prince Ty

    I don't understand your question

    4 02-08-2016 16:45:00 +0000

  • rotimi Jimz1995

    as in?

    4 02-08-2016 17:13:00 +0000

  • Emmanuella Agabi

    i hope de can admit me oh ,me am benue state oh

    4 02-08-2016 17:47:00 +0000


    what does this mean??????

    4 02-08-2016 17:55:00 +0000

  • Benita Nneka

    Wqt of ansu

    4 02-08-2016 18:30:00 +0000

  • Benita Nneka

    Wat of ansu

    4 02-08-2016 18:31:00 +0000