Get better study experience with the jambite for andriod app! jambite app download
  • "Quote of the Day"

General Discussions

Chima Sunday (Tutor)
    17-06-2016 13:14:00 +0000

"My first experience of academic friends made me smile in after years when i looked back on them. But my circle of acquaintance had gradually grown so large that it was only natural new friends should grow out of it"
    (George Ohm) Short Biography

He was one of the three surviving child of family of seven children. Their father Johana Wofgan Ohm was a locksmith, while his mother Maria Beck was a daughter of a tailor. Their father who new actually the important of formal education did not enjoyed it but he spent almost all his time and money to make sure that his surviving children were properly educated. Being an entirely self taught man, he spent most of his time teaching his children.

When he got admission into the university of Erlangen, he was carried away with school extra curriculum activities he indulge into clubbing, dancing, skating and what have you. This aroused his father fury, in an account that the opportunity that he so much long to have his son is wasting it. This made his father to withdrew him from school after about three semesters. It was then that his eyes were opened, but it was too late for him. He instead of giving up, he picked up a teaching job in some local school around and spent the rest of his time including sleeping hour studying and teaching himself. And it was in those studies that he was struck with the idea of Ohms law.